Book Title: Truce

Author:  Risha Chaurasia

Total Number of Pages: 222

Language: English

Publisher: BookMedia Publishing

I love reading books on teenage life as the characters of that age intrigue me a lot. During my teenage, I was way ambitious but yet stubborn. Probably, today I feel that had I been under good friends and with a proper mentor, I could have done something great in my life.

So far the novels that I read with teenage characters are either put on show of madness or being rebellious in nature. Whether it is Mark Twain, Ruskin Bond, R.K. Narayan, Premchand, or Sudha Murty – I never get bored of teenage based stories. Their characters in the stories sound similar yet way different. One reason is that their stories are not contemporary. Their stories are set in some 19 century or time of 1960s to 1990s.

However, my newest crave is to see the teenage of today. Hence I picked up two books in a matter of one month; one was ‘The Disappointing Five’ by Bobanga, and now ‘Truce’ by Risha Chaurasia. Both books feature 5 characters from school/college. The books are about their lives, their personal lives, not someone else.

I sighed in appreciation for the author Risha, as she is just a teen author and blogger from India. Her novel Truce was much bigger in intensity and conveying the message of true friendship and self-discovery. In the Truce novel, five characters – Tiya, Ron, Udit, Cayra, and Edit – struggle to get a meaningful life with true friendship. If you will read the book at leisure, you will get to know their personal stories and how they make it big together when they are all friends. However, life keeps testing them but they keep the equation funny and deliver the best of best messages for the current generations.

I loved Ron and felt as he is the big guy driving the plot and keeping others engaged. But there were some negative characters as well that created a good amount of contrasting effect in the overall story. The story was delivered perfectly and I am in awe with the writing style of the author. Among both books (‘Truce’ and ‘The Disappointing Five’), I admit my heart goes with Truce. Well-sketched characters and high on credibility, Truce is a novel with positive characters for inspiring others. Good novel!!

Get it from Amazon/Kindle.